Rajesh Agarwal

Rajesh Agarwal

Professor

Recent Publications

Email: rajesh.agarwal@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Cancer pharmacology
  • Cancer biology
  • Warfare vesicants


Tom Anchordoquy

Thomas Anchordoquy, PhD

Professor

Recent Publications

Email: tom.anchordoquy@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Nanoparticle-mediated gene delivery
  • Lyophilization and stability
  • Small molecule formulation
  • Immune response to nanoparticle administration
  • Exploiting exosome biology


Peter Anderson

Peter Anderson, PharmD

Professor
Director, Pharmaceutical Sciences Graduate Program

Recent Publications

Email: peter.anderson@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Antiviral drug pharmacokinetic-pharmacodynamic relationships in humans
  • Using drug concentrations to assess adherence to antiviral therapies
  • New assays for drug/metabolite quantification in unique compartments in humans


Christina Aquilante

Christina Aquilante, PharmD, FCCP

Professor
Co-Chair, Pharmacogenomics Implementation Committee Colorado (PICColo)

Recent Publications

Email: christina.aquilante@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Clinical Pharmacogenomics
  • Heart Transplantation
  • Cardiovascular Diseases


Serapio Baca

Serapio Baca, PhD

Assistant Research Professor

Recent Publications

Email: serapio.baca@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Migraine Research
  • Fragile X


Donald Backos

Donald Backos, MPH, PhD

Assistant Research Professor

Recent Publications

Email: donald.backos@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Computational Chemistry and Biology
  • visualization of molecular structrues


David Bain

David Bain, PhD

Professor
Vice-Chair, Pharmaceutical Sciences

Recent Publications

Email: david.bain@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Mechanisms of transcriptional regulation
  • Thermodynamics of protein-protein and protein-DNA interactions
  • Biophysical characterization of therapeutic macromolecules


David Bourne

David Bourne, BPharm, PhD

Associate Professor

Recent Publications

Email: david.bourne@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Mathematical modeling of pharmacokinetic data
  • Development of software solutions


Jared Brown

Jared Brown, PhD

Associate Professor
Toxicology Graduate Program Director

Recent Publications

Email: jared.brown@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Inflammation and immune response to nanoparticles and air pollution
  • Mast cells and allergy
  • Nanomedicine and bladder cancer
  • Nanoparticles and protein corona


John Carpenter

John Carpenter, PhD

Professor
Co-Founder and Co-Director of the University of Colorado Center for Pharmaceutical Biotechnology

Recent Publications

Email:john.carpenter@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Mechanisms for protein degradation and stabilization in pharmaceutical formulations, during bioprocessing and in delivery systems.
  • Development and testing of advanced analytical instruments for particle characterization
  • Effects of end-user handling and mishandling on quality of therapeutic protein products


Carlos Catalano

Carlos Catalano, PharmD, PhD

Professor of Biochemistry and Biophysics, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Recent Publications

Email: carlos.catalano@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Physical Virology
  • Molecular mechanisms of viral DNA packaging motors
  • Assembly and maturation of viral capsids
  • Viral capsids as designer nanoparticles for therapeutic and diagnostic (theranostic) applications


Shaodong Dai

Shaodong Dai, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Recent Publications

Email: shaodong.dai@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Mechanisms of T cell mediated metal hypersensitivities
  • Mechanisms of T cell recognition of autoantigens in Type 1 diabetes and RA
  • CAR T and engineered T cell therapies of autoimmune diseases
  • Redox signaling and drug design in the immune diseases and infectious diseases


Thomas Delong

Thomas Delong, PhD

Assistant Professor

Recent Publications

Email: thomas.delong@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Mass spectrometry
  • Post-translational modifications
  • Autoantigen discovery in autoimmune diseases
  • T cell immunology
  • Pathogenesis of Type 1 Diabetes


Kristofer Fritz

Kristofer Fritz, PhD

Associate Professor

Recent Publications

Email: kristofer.fritz@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Mechanisms of alcoholic liver disease
  • Metabolic dysregulation of liver and kidney function
  • Regulatory nature of sirtuin activity and protein acetylation
  • Utilizing mass spectrometry to investigate proteomics & post-translational modifications


Molly Huntsman

Molly Huntsman, PhD

Associate Professor

Recent Publications

Email: molly.huntsman@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Autism Spectrum Disorders and Epilepsy
  • Inhibitory neurotransmission in health and disease
  • Mechanisms of plasticity in the developing brain
  • In vivo electrophysiology of brain activity
  • Examination of social learning and behaviors in the autistic brain


Melanie Joy

Melanie S. Joy, PharmD, PhD

Associate Professor
Director of Pharmaceutical Science Innovation and Commercialization

Recent Publications

Email: melanie.joy@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • In Vivo and In Vitro Drug Metabolism and Transport in Kidney
  • Nephrotoxicity / Biomarkers
  • Pharmacokinetics/Pharmacodynamics/Pharmacogenomics
  • Discovery and Translation of Novel Treatment Approaches to Kidney Diseases


Jennifer Kiser

Jennifer Kiser, PharmD, PhD

Associate Professor
Co-Director, Colorado Antiviral Pharmacology Laboratory

Recent Publications

Email: jennifer.kiser@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Intracellular pharmacology of nucleos(t)ide analogs
  • Drug interactions with antiviral therapies
  • Pharmacokinetics of antivirals in patients with viral hepatitis and special populations with HIV (pregnant women, children, those coinfected with viral hepatitis)
  • Effects of recreational drug use on antiviral pharmacology and adherence


Uday Kompella

Uday Kompella, PhD, FARVO, FAAPS

Professor
Co-Director, Colorado Center for Nanomedicine and Nanosafety

Recent Publications

Email: uday.kompella@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Ocular, respiratory, and brain drug discovery, delivery, and development.
  • Nanomedicines for drug delivery, gene delivery, and imaging.
  • Novel drug delivery systems: Nanoparticles, microparticles, and implants.
  • Novel therapies for diabetic retinopathy, macular degeneration, and cancers.


David Kroll

David Kroll, PhD

Professor
Director, Master’s Degree and Certificate Programs in Pharmacy & Pharmaceutical Sciences

Recent Publications

Email: david.kroll@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Cancer Pharmacology of Natural Products
  • Science and Medical Journalism
  • Public Science Communication


Daniel Labarbera

Dan LaBarbera, PhD

Associate Professor
Director, HTS/HCS and chemical biology core facility

Recent Publications

Email: daniel.labarbera@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Organic and Medicinal Chemistry
  • Molecular and Cancer Biology
  • HTS/HCS Drug Discovery
  • Drug Design
  • Drug Mechanism(s) of Action
  • In vitro and In vivo Pharmacology
  • In vitro and In vivo Pharmacokinetics and Toxicology


Jed Lampe

Jed Lampe, PhD

Assistant Professor

Recent Publications

Email: jed.lampe@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Structural and Functional Modeling of HIV Drug Metabolism in the Infant Liver
  • Computational Modeling of HIV Drug Metabolism and Transport in the Infant Liver
  • Development of Micro-organoid Models of the Infant Liver


Krishna Mallela

Krishna Mallela, PhD

Associate Professor
Associate Director, Pharmaceutical Sciences Graduate Program

Recent Publications

Email: krishna.mallela@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Structure-function-disease analysis of dystrophin and muscular dystrophy
  • Structure, stability, and aggregation of protein drug substances and drug products
  • 2D NMR spectroscopy of antibody therapeutics
  • Biophysical characterization of protein vaccine stability and aggregation


Rebecca McCullough

Rebecca McCullough, PhD

Assistant Professor

Recent Publications

Email: rebecca.mccullough@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Innate immunity and chronic liver diseases
  • Complement-mediated tissue damage
  • Immunotherapy and natural immunosuppression
  • Extracellular vesicles and organ-organ crosstalk


Manisha Patel

Manisha Patel, PhD

Professor

Recent Publications

Email: manisha.patel@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Mitochondrial (dys)function and oxidative stress in epilepsy and neurodegeneration
  • Environmental causes of neuronal injury
  • Redox-based small molecule therapeutics
  • Neuroinflammation and redox signaling


Vanessa Phelan

Vanessa Phelan, PhD

Assistant Professor

Recent Publications

Email: vanessa.phelan@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Mass Spectrometry Tools for Microbial Systems
  • Ecological Roles of Natural Products
  • Host-Microbiome-Environment Interactions


Richard Radcliffe

Richard Radcliffe, PhD

Professor

Recent Publications

Email: richard.radcliffe@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Systems genetics
  • Behavioral responses to alcohol
  • Quantitative RNA sequencing


Philip Reigan

Philip Reigan, PhD

Associate Professor
Director, Computational Chemistry and Biology Core Facility

Recent Publications

Email: philip.reigan@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Computational-based design of novel small molecules
  • Chemical synthesis of heterocyclic compounds
  • Targeting adaptive proteins and pathways in hypoxia (metabolic reprogramming)
  • Disrupting drug resistance mechanisms in cancer (DNA damage response)


Nichole Reisdorph

Nichole Reisdorph, PhD

Associate Professor
Director, SSPPS Mass Spectrometry Facility

Recent Publications

Email: nicole.reisdorph@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Metabolomics, lipidomics, and proteomics
  • Role of oxylipins in inflammatory, immune, and lung disease
  • Nutrimetabolomics
  • Understanding role of host:microbiome metabolism in health and disease
  • Novel informatics strategies applied to metabolomics


James Roede

James Roede, PhD

Associate Professor
Associate Director, Toxicology Graduate Program

Recent Publications

Email: james.roede@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Thiol redox dysregulation in mechanisms of toxicity
  • Proteostasis and neurodegeneration
  • Environmental causes of neurodegeneration, e.g. maneb exposure
  • Metabolic consequences of mitochondrial dysfunction


David Ross

David Ross, PhD

Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies
Professor and Department Chair

Recent Publications

Email: david.ross@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Quinones, quinone reductases, selective toxicity of antitumor agents, drug development, targeting of antitumor agents, pharmacogenomics


Laura Saba

Laura Saba, PhD

Associate Professor

Recent Publications

Email: laura.saba@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Statistical methods and bioinformatics techniques for studying complex genetic traits
  • Transcriptomics and systems genetics


Robert Scheinman

Robert Scheinman, PhD

Associate Research Professor

Recent Publications

Email: robert.scheinman@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Molecular biology, immunology, and nanotechnology
  • Immunology and nanoformulations/drug delivery systems


Dmitri Simberg

Dmitri Simberg, PhD

Associate Professor
Co-Director, Colorado Center for Nanomedicine and Nanosafety

Recent Publications

Email: dmitri.simberg@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Immune recognition of nanoparticles
  • Cells as carriers of drugs and diagnostics
  • Isolation of biomarkers and cells from bulk fluids
  • Mechanisms of skin accumulation and toxicity of drug carriers


Boris Tabakoff

Boris Tabakoff, PhD

Professor
Co-Director, Colorado Center for Nanomedicine and Nanosafety

Recent Publications

email: boris.tabakoff@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Creating extensive DNA and RNA sequence information for rat strains to be used in systems analysis of physiology and behavior
  • The genetic predisposing factors for alcoholism and other addictions
  • Development of medications to be used for prevention of relapse in alcoholics
  • Development of medications to treat chronic pain syndromes and reduce opiate use


Michael Wempe

Michael Wempe, PhD

Associate Research Professor
Director, Medicinal Chemistry Core Facility

Recent Publications

Email: michael.wempe@cuanschutz.edu

Research Interests

  • Medicinal Chemistry - rational drug design and Structure-Activity Relationship (SAR) elucidation
  • Computational chemistry
  • Developing novel technology to improve drug oral bioavailability
  • Identifying new bio-analytical methodology