Dean Ralph Altiere

Ralph Altiere PhD

Dean Professor
  • School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences


Primary Phone:303-724-2887

Mailing Address:
  • CU Anschutz

Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Building

12850 East Montview Boulevard

Aurora, CO 80045

Dr. Altiere has been a faculty member of the University of Colorado School of Pharmacy since 1987. He received his Bachelor of Science degree in chemistry from Manhattan College, a Master of Science in chemistry from New York University and a Master of Science and a Ph.D. in pharmacology from New York Medical College.; He completed a postdoctoral appointment at Yale University before joining the faculty at the University of Kentucky College of Pharmacy.

Prior to his appointment as associate dean in 1995, Dr. Altiere had a distinguished record in research focusing on neural regulation of airway function.; He is the author of several book chapters and numerous research articles published in major pharmacology and respiratory journals worldwide. He served on NIH study sections and as a scientific journal reviewer.

Dr. Altiere has had leadership responsibility for the school's professional education programs, educational and student support services, academic policy development and accreditation reviews.; He was responsible for leading the effort to establish the Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) program and developing and implementing a comprehensive assessment program for the school's academic program.; He has been a leader in diversity efforts at the school having served as director of a HRSA-funded Center of Excellence Diversity Program.; From 1998 to 2005, he was director of the Pharmacy Student Research Conference - Western Region.

Dr. Altiere is active in professional association affairs having served on the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Academic Affairs Committee and Institutional Research Advisory Committee; is a current member to the Advocacy Task force and member of and former chair of the Section of Teachers of Biological Sciences.; He was a fellow in the inaugural AACP Leadership Fellows Program.; He also serves as an external reviewer for ACPE accreditation site visits.; He received a UCD Diversity Award, the School of Nursing Dean's Award for Distinguished Leadership, shared a UCD Innovations in Teaching Award and is co-author of three Innovations in Teaching Awards from AACP.; He serves as a member of the advisory board for the UCD Center for Bioethics and Humanities.

He continues to teach cell biology, physiology, pathophysiology and health care ethics in the PharmD degree program.


Tina Brock, EdD, FAPhA, FFIP

Associate Dean for Education

Erika Freitas

Erika Freitas, PhD

Assistant Dean for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion

Shaun Gleason

Shaun Gleason, PharmD

Assistant Dean for Distance Degrees and Programs

Brian Hemstreet

Brian Hemstreet, PharmD

Associate Dean for Student Affairs

Gina Moore

Gina Moore, PharmD, MBA

Associate Dean for Operations


Joseph Saseen, PharmD

Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs

Manisha Patel

Manisha Patel, PhD

Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies

Cindy O'Bryant

Cindy OBryant PharmD

Associate Dean for Academic and Faculty Affairs

Michele Frankovich

Michele Frankovich, EdD (c), MBA

Associate Dean for Finance and Administration

Doug Fish PharmD

Professor and Chair
Department of Clinical Pharmacy

Rajesh Agarwal PhD

Professor and Interim Chair Cancer Prevention and Control Program Co-Leader
Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences