Julia Rawlings PharmD, BCPS, CPPS

Program Director - HCPF Contracts and Partnerships Clinical Associate Professor (C/T)
  • Department of Clinical Pharmacy


Primary Phone:303-724-0461

Mailing Address:
  • CU Anschutz

Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Building

12850 East Montview Boulevard

Office: V20-1126C

Aurora, CO 80045

Julia Baker Rawlings serves as Program Director for HCPF Contracts and Partnerships and Clinical Lead for the Colorado Evidence-Based Drug Utilization Review (CO-DUR) Program. One of her primary roles is to review and develop prior authorization criteria for Health First Colorado, Colorado’s Medicaid Program, in collaboration with the Colorado Department of Health Care Policy & Financing (HCPF). Dr. Rawlings also serves as a coordinator for Health First Colorado’s Rx Review (MTM) and Chronic Pain Centers of Excellence programs and oversees the Population Health (DUR) Intern Program at the CU Skaggs School of Pharmacy. Dr. Rawlings is currently an ex officio member and secretary of the Health First Colorado Drug Utilization Review (DUR) Board.

Prior to returning to her alma mater in 2017, Dr. Rawlings’ career included a broad range of professional experiences, including full time Clinical Research Assistant, Clinical Pharmacist in Primary Care/Internal Medicine, Clinical Pharmacy Specialist in Medication Safety, Instructor for Pre-Pharmacy Engagement, and leadership positions in community and managed care outpatient pharmacies.


Education, Licensure & Certifications

  • BS Pharmacy, University of Colorado Boulder
  • Doctor of Pharmacy, University of Colorado School of Pharmacy
  • Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist (2005 to present)
  • Certified Professional in Patient Safety (2012 to present)
  • IHI Patient Safety Officer (PSO) Certificate


  • Caduceus Award, HOSA International (2019)
  • Partner of the Year Award, Colorado HOSA – Future Health Professionals
  • Kaiser Permanente Colorado RxCellence Award – Clinical Pharmacy Services
  • Drug Information Practice Clinical Achievement Award – University of Colorado School of Pharmacy


  • American Drug Utilization Review Society
  • American Society of Health-System Pharmacists
  • Rho Chi National Pharmaceutical Honor Society
  • Colorado Pharmacists Society
  • Phi Lambda Sigma Pharmacy Leadership Society
  • American Society of Professionals in Patient Safety (2012-2017)
  • American College of Clinical Pharmacy (1995-2015)

CMS Login