Joseph Saseen PharmD

Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs and Professor
  • Department of Clinical Pharmacy


Primary Phone:303-724-2656

Mailing Address:
  • CU Anschutz

Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Building

12850 East Montview Boulevard

First Floor Room 1127C

Aurora, CO 80045

Joseph Saseen is Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs and Professor of Clinical Pharmacy and a Professor of Family Medicine. He also served as Vice Chair of the Department of Clinical Pharmacy for 10 years.

Dr. Saseen has responsibilities for enhancing the school’s clinical enterprise, further developing sustainable clinical service models, and advocating for advancing the practice of pharmacy in the State of Colorado. He is a clinical pharmacist at the University of Colorado Health focusing on cardiovascular risk reduction and population health. Dr. Saseen teaches cardiovascular pharmacotherapy and other topics related to primary care, and is the PGY2 Ambulatory Care residency program director. His scholarly work includes almost 200 peer-reviewed publications and book chapters.

Dr. Saseen is President of the National Lipid Association (NLA). He is a fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy, American Society of Health-system Pharmacists, American Pharmacists Association, the American Heart Association, and the NLA.

Education, Licensure & Certifications

  • Doctor of Pharmacy; State University of New York at Buffalo
  • Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy; State University of New York at Buffalo
  • Ambulatory Care Research Fellowship; University of Colorado Health Sciences Center 


  • American Pharmacists Association Daniel B. Smith Practice Excellence Award (2020)
  • Pharmacy Residency Excellence Program Award, American Society of Health-Systems Pharmacists (2019)
  • American College of Clinical Pharmacy, Cardiology PRN Best Paper Recognition Award (2019)
  • Presidents Service Award; National Lipid Association (2018)
  • Winner; Innovations in Teaching Competition, American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy (2016)
  • Outstanding Instructor; University of Colorado School of Pharmacy, Class of 2017 (2015)
  • Education Award; American College of Clinical Pharmacy (2014)
  • American Association of Medical Colleges Clinical Innovation Challenge Award (2014)
  • Teacher of the Year Award; University of Colorado Family Medicine Residency (2012)
  • American College of Clinical Pharmacy, Ambulatory Care Practice and Research Network Achievement Award (2011)
  • University of Colorado: Chancellor’s Teaching Recognition Award (2011) 


  • Department of Clinical Pharmacy, Skaggs School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
  • Department of Family Medicine, School of Medicine