Megan Thompson

Megan Thompson PharmD

Assistant Dean of Experiential Programs, Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy
  • Department of Clinical Pharmacy


Primary Phone:303-724-2659

Mailing Address:
  • CU Anschutz

Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Building

12850 East Montview Boulevard

First Floor Room 1116K

Aurora, CO 80045

Megan Thompson, PharmD, is the Director of Experiential Education and Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacy. In this role, Dr. Thompson oversees all pharmacy practice experiences for over 750 Entry-Level, North American Trained, and International Trained PharmD students. The experiential program at the CU Skaggs School of Pharmacy comprises over 33% of the PharmD curriculum. The Office of Experiential Programs team works to create innovative experiential learning models, enhance existing practice sites, develop new clinical training sites, develop preceptor training modules and provide guidance to students and preceptors throughout their pharmacy practice experiences. Her current research interests include curricular/co-curricular design and educational models as they relate to experiential education, managing multigenerational differences in a workplace or educational environment, resilience, self-reflection/self-awareness, and preceptor development. She is an invited speaker and facilitator on these topics at the national and international level. Her previous work included prescription drug and opioid abuse education, more specifically in the design and implementation of national prescription drug education and abuse/misuse prevention programs.

Education, Licensure & Certifications

  • Doctor of Pharmacy, University of New Mexico College of Pharmacy, Albuquerque, NM


  • 2019 I-Corps@CCTSI Competition Best Product/Idea, University of Colorado/Colorado Clinical Translational Sciences Institute
  • 2018 Winner, Award for Excellence in Assessment, American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy
  • 2016 Winner, Innovations in Teaching Award, American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy
  • 2012 National Generation Rx Champion Award, American Pharmacists Association,
  • 2011 New Mexico Cardinal Health Generation Rx Champions Award
  • 2002 Distinguished Young Pharmacist of the Year Award, Pharmacists Mutual